Author Topic: Advice Needed - 24v Battery Bank on 48v Turbine  (Read 10873 times)

lowerstoford

Advice Needed - 24v Battery Bank on 48v Turbine
« on: November 21, 2012, 10:51:29 AM »
Updated ***

Hi

Hopefully I have put this in the correct section.....

I am new to wind power and need some advice on a few modifications I would like to make to my system.

The story so far.....

About 3 years ago I obtained a 750W 48V 15A ARI (Cheap China Made) Turbine and a combined charge controller and dump load.

After a few 100 hours of research and many hours trying to source all the other parts I needed for the tower and power side of things, I eventually have the system installed and turning at the bottom of my garden.

The location is not idea and I have discovered (like many others) that I do not have enough wind!
What I mean by this is to charge the 48V battery bank I need to produce over 48V , but I have only had around 10 seconds of charge over the last few days of nice stormy weather.
Watching the controller it is producing 22-30v most of the time.

***The wind speed we are talking about are on average 5-12ms with gust of 16m/s. This is being measured via a weather station located at the same hight as the turbine***

I just seem to be generating electricity and wasting it? Where does this voltage go when it not above the battery level?

So after a little more research I have found that if i lower the battery voltage to 24V, which is closer to the voltage levels the turbine is producing. I should be able to get some charge into the batteries.

I understand that i will reduce the output power of the turbine from 750W to 360W (not sure about these figures) but I am more interested in generating SOME electricity.
I also understand that I probably can not use my current controller.

So here are my questions