Author Topic: Cattle Ranchers need HELP!  (Read 5988 times)

suitep123

Cattle Ranchers need HELP!
« on: April 04, 2008, 06:35:25 AM »
My husband and I are cattle ranchers.  We have no electricity on our 100+ acre ranch (except the huge PG&E towers that we can't access!)  We have a DC well pump and are currently running it on 24v using 2 - 12v deep cell batteries connected in series.  The problem is - they last less than 6 hours.

We're thinking of using a wind generator to produce enough power to keep the batteries charged.  That's all - but it seems like the more we read, the more confused we get!  My husband is a mechanic and fabricator (with no tools because they've been moved out of state), I am an accountant and we really have little to no working knowledge of electricity and how it works.  Watts/Amps/Volts what's needed to run what is all so confusing.  Hubby is a certified generator technician -but that just means he removes and replaces bad parts.

Here's where we're getting our butts kicked.  We typically get 5 - 15 mph winds out at the ranch for most of the day, on most days.  We are looking to maybe put up a wind generator to keep the batteries charged, and the well pumping water.    

The well pump manufacturer calls for 65 watts, 1.7 amp of solar power now, and when the pump is loaded for bear later it will need 155 watts and 4.1 amps.  The problem with that is that the pump wouldn't run at night after the batteries ran out and they wouldn't run in the morning til the batteries got recharged, so that sounds extremely inefficient - we'd need a whole bank of batteries.

We could really use some help figuring all this out if you would, or have the time, etc.  We would greatly appreciate any help you might be able to offer.

Thank you so much for any help......

Bob and Pauline

« Last Edit: April 04, 2008, 06:35:25 AM by (unknown) »

ZooT

Re: Cattle Ranchers need HELP!
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 02:54:01 AM »