Author Topic: wiring 9C stator as 3 separate 3C gens?  (Read 3042 times)

spinningmagnets

wiring 9C stator as 3 separate 3C gens?
« on: April 25, 2009, 09:21:15 PM »
I can't have a wind-gen where I'm at, but will retire soon, doing homework now. I am planning on casting a 3-phase stator with 9 coils, and having each coils 2 leads outside the casting for experiments with star/delta, and series/parallel...I am still learning.

An idea occurred to me, probably foolish. Load affects RPM's, this is shown by the need for dump load when battery is full. If less load spins faster, or faster near cut-in...perhaps using only 3 of the coils as a smaller gen will allow higer RPM's near cut-in?

During solid winds and battery at max charging, a surface-mount temp sensor on the stator could alert a circuit that begins rotating the use of 3-coil sets in the 9-coil stator to help cooling?

If less load allows higher RPM's in fluctuating winds, perhaps if using 3 coils when battery is near full could keep the RPM's higher enough to harvest a few more Watts than otherwise?

I am not in a position to experiment with this right now, its just a question for amusement and learning.

"Exaggeration is a million times worse than understatement" -Steven Wright

« Last Edit: April 25, 2009, 09:21:15 PM by (unknown) »

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
Re: wiring 9C stator as 3 separate 3C gens?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 10:11:37 PM »
My instantaneous and unscientific thought is that, you will get the same amount of power and heat out of either arrangement. In a regular set-up all of your coils would be producing heat equally. In your second arrangement you would have three sets of coils, but each set is getting 3 times hotter but only being used 1/3 of the time.

Using only one set of coils is single phase and has cogging/vibration problems.