Author Topic: Converting an induction motor into an alternator (I am a newbie)  (Read 7458 times)

dansohayl

Hi,

Well, yes, I am a "newbie" as you will be able to tell from my question.  I have a strong feeling that what I want to do is probably impractical and/or crazy.  But here it is anyway.  Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I am trying find a way to make a simple (but powerful) alternating generator of electricity from a squirrel cage motor (just learned that, that is what this kind of motor is called - that is how new I am at this stuff), for a small wind generator.  

I have found that squirrel cage motors (two from air conditioners and one from a washing machine) produce a very small amount of electricity (volts) compared to small permanent magnet motors when spun by hand.  However, when I take the rotor out of the squirrel cage motor and run a permanent magnet past the coils (on the inside where the rotor was) a larger voltage is produced.  

What I would like to try to do is remove the rotor and install permanent magnets on the shaft, where the rotor was sitting.  This way the magnets would spin inside the coils to produce a higher amount of volts.

Has anyone done this?  Am I crazy to think that this is possible?  Would it even work?  

If this has worked for someone, how do I get the rotor off the shaft?  I cannot figure out how the rotor is attached, and I am almost ready to try and just smash it to pieces with a hammer

What do you think?

Thanks

P.S. Remember, I am totally new at this stuff so be gentle in your criticism.  

P.S.S. As I am trying to learn how to make a homebrewed wind turbine, I have been spending way too much time (the last couple of days) on this website looking at stuff and slowing learning.  I should be in bed (its 1am) or working!!!  But as many of you know this is fun, fascinating, and habit forming stuff.  Thank you to all those you keep this service going.