Author Topic: 48v upgrade phase one complete  (Read 1198 times)

Hilltopgrange

48v upgrade phase one complete
« on: March 09, 2007, 03:57:13 PM »
Hi Guys Greetings from Northern Ireland. I am a newbie to the board but I hope I can contribute in some small way to your discussions. I have been playing with the wind for a few years now it's the usual story of starting of with car alternators and P.M. motors to finally building the 8ft 24v Hugh Piggott machine. I also purchased one of the Future energy generators and blade sets and fitted them to a modified version of Hughes yaw and furling design so with regard to your poll I have 2 flying and im using the power. Anyway! I have recently embarked on an upgrade of my complete setup by going to a 48v system. My first purchase was a 2.5 ton Cat electric fork truck with a very good 72v battery that I reconfigured to 48v. The fork truck was an absolute bargain at only £250 or about $500 and it has proved to be a fantastic source of Parts with giant size diodes and fuses, cables etc. I have also upgraded my inverter to a 48v 3.75 kw ups I know its not ideal and that they can be bit power hungry but in my defence it was very cheap and it works very well lol the final part of phase one of the upgrade was completed to-day as I fitted the new 48v stator to the turbine, it's the standard 48v as per Hughes plans i.e. 10 coils 290 turns of #21 wire. The old 24v turbine suffered badly from stalling with the 4ft wooden blades. I tried all the usual remedies opened the gap and added resistance etc and it helped but never cured it, finally I fitted a set of 4ft GRP blades (3) from ebay and that sorted it, however it proved to be only temporary  as it shed a blade about a month later. So as a result I decided to carve a new set for the upgrade but I wanted to try a larger rotor this time so I went with the Other power 10ft design, I liked the simplicity of the design and carved it using a stacked dado head cutter on a radial arm saw, wi