Author Topic: 3 phase alternator design  (Read 7936 times)

Igor

3 phase alternator design
« on: October 20, 2007, 12:51:09 AM »
Hi everyone -

It's my first time posting here so please be patient if I mess up....

I'm starting to do some experiments with wind power, and as I live in the English suburbs, only a few feet away from both my neighbours, and as I don't have a few acres to put up a tower and mill, any wind power projects must be safe, quiet and unobtrusive.

So - I've built a small model VAWT as my starting point. It's based on the Lenz2 design, but using 2 stacks of 2 blades set 90 degrees apart. It's only 20 cm diameter and 50 cm tall (8" X 20" but it sure spins at an impressive RPM (unloaded so far)

I know it's only a toy, but it would be nice if I could get a little useful 12V battery charging out of it before I go on to build something larger. So - I've built the rotor, now I need to build a small scale alternator to go with it.

I've had a look at Windstuff Ed's site and followed through the "3 phase basics" page OK - yes - I've followed it so far - but I'm wondering if there's a website that takes it a tad further ?. One of the concepts that I haven't yet got to grips with is having a different number of magnets to coils like many perm magnet alternators seem to do - and how to work out the spacings and numbers of coils and magnets. Could anyone point me in the right direction without it all getting way too technical ?

Also, is there a rule of thumb when working out what gauge of wire  / number of turns per coil when you're designing your alternator, or is it just best to look at what's gone before and base your design on that ?