Author Topic: RE "non polluting" kind  (Read 673 times)

Solarjunkie

RE "non polluting" kind
« on: December 14, 2005, 04:25:46 AM »
I was wondering how many of you out there are on completely off grid using non polluting RE? I know its far from possible out there, as even the batteries give off noxious gases. Anyone doing Hydrogen fuel cells? just interested in peoples opinions

I am just a newbie to this site and have a house in the city with a few partially passive solar heaters heating my garage and a few panels charging some smaller golf cart batteries so I am far from "pollution free", but was wondering who has come close? Love the board!

Solar Junkie

« Last Edit: December 14, 2005, 04:25:46 AM by (unknown) »

pyrocasto

Re: RE "non polluting" kind
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2005, 09:39:37 PM »
YOu really have to lighten up on the ammount of polution you create man. Though a water turbine will let a little grease into the rivers, a bridge would do worse. Pretty much all RE is a lot better for the environtment than grid power(most of the time). Most RE if done right has pretty much 0 impact on the environment.(Compare the amount of birds killed by turbines, to the amount killed by buildings...)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 09:39:37 PM by pyrocasto »

wdyasq

No free lunch
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2005, 09:44:58 PM »
Don't forget the amount of water polluted and fuel burned to make solar panels.

Ron

« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 09:44:58 PM by wdyasq »
"I like the Honey, but kill the bees"

pyrocasto

Re: No free lunch
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2005, 09:50:08 PM »
True. In the production of some things RE pollution would be created. How much or how bad though, I'm not sure. I would think though a solar panel over it life would have crated less pollution manufacturing it, than if you were to make the same power from coal or nuclear.

Just a guess and dont actually know.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 09:50:08 PM by pyrocasto »

georgeodjungle