Author Topic: Otherpower.com could use a facelift  (Read 766 times)

claude

Otherpower.com could use a facelift
« on: January 30, 2007, 09:40:43 AM »
Hello everybody.

I read this board on a daily basis and I find the content fascinating. And this is the most important quality in a board. But I find the whole site (visually speaking) a bit "simple", to be polite. Being a graphic designer I'm willing to help make this site look better.

Here's a quick sketch for a logo:

So I'm addresing our hosts with this. I also include here a poll. Maybe we all should answer to it.

« Last Edit: January 30, 2007, 09:40:43 AM by (unknown) »

MickS

Re: Otherpower.com could use a facelift
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 03:37:44 AM »
Dont waste everybody's time downloading graphics that add no value.

Mick S

« Last Edit: January 30, 2007, 03:37:44 AM by MickS »

PaulJ

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 04:31:33 AM »
   Nice sketch, but like some other people here I have a painfully slow internet connection and wouldn't want any extra graphics to make things slower.

Paul.

« Last Edit: January 30, 2007, 04:31:33 AM by PaulJ »

claude

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2007, 04:33:36 AM »
Hy Mick,

I disagree. Graphics do add value. My work experience has proven this to me. I'm not talking here about making a christmas tree out of this page. But the visual identity should be better outlined. And extra time won't be needed al all if this is made properly.

I respect your opinion. You are, as most of us, more interested in content rather than its package. But this board has reached a certain level of popularity and text-mode html look is getting a little old.

Claude

« Last Edit: January 30, 2007, 04:33:36 AM by claude »

Stynus

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2007, 05:02:28 AM »
Maybe you could use punbb

http://www.punbb.org

It is a lightweight PHP discussion board.

The biggest improvement then will be the edit button :p.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2007, 05:02:28 AM by Stynus »

wdyasq