Author Topic: Generator Problem: Too many coils?  (Read 7271 times)

Savonius Man

Generator Problem: Too many coils?
« on: March 15, 2009, 10:53:12 PM »
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on the forum.  I have been building savonius turbines and fiberglass generators for the past 4 years.  I'm a mechanical engineer, and I have been trying to develop a fast, inexpensive, and easy way to make complete wind energy systems.  

My recent generator design involved a single rotor with 12 n45 magnets, and two stators on either side of the rotor. Each stator has 12 coils so there were 24 coils total. In test trials I found the device to produce about 10 amps and 70 volts with the stators in series, but this was only possible at 10 revolutions per second, which would require pretty aggressive gearing because my VAWTs typically rotate at 1 rps. I cant seem to find any cheep 10:1 chain drives without resorting to bicycle parts which really can't handle the torque given by 1kW.

I decided to remove the 12 magnet rotor, and make two new 6 magnet rotors to rotate on the outsides of one stator.  This is a technique I have used in the past and found to create a lot of power due to the two rotors concentrating each others fields through the single stator.  So rather than having a 12 coil stator, 12 magnet rotor, and 12 coil stator sandwich,  I now have a 6 magnet rotor, 12 coil stator, and another 6 magnet rotor sandwich.  

Unfortunately, this design seems to create No power.  I tested the stator, and found that it completes a circuit well, so its not burned out.

All I can think of is that a 6 magnet rotor will not work with a 12 coil stator because the fields are passing into the inactive coils and inducing a current that opposes generation in the coils that have magnets passing over them at any given moment.  

Have any of you encountered this before?  am I going to have to pour another stator that has only 6 fat coils to get this thing to work?

Thanks in advance,