Author Topic: You think you have blade problems  (Read 3330 times)

Perry1

You think you have blade problems
« on: July 13, 2009, 04:42:02 AM »
Hello all,

This is my first post on the forum. I have been reading for a while and I think it is great. I am amazed at the inginuity and technical knowledge that I see demonstrated here. My story might be different than most. I work as a development engineer for one of those big guy companies working in wind. The first turbine I built puts out 1.5 megawatts and I am now working my way up to a 100 watt Ametek 30V model :)  Actually I bought the book and I am working on a 10 footer now. No real need for the power or living off grid. I just think they are great machines and can drink a 6 pack and watch them run for hours.

Thought some of you might be interested in seeing what I have to deal with when a blade needs some work during my 'day job'

Perry

« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 04:42:02 AM by (unknown) »

boB

• boB
Re: You think you have blade problems
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 11:15:16 PM »
I think it's great to get another perspective on all of this !

Ironically, on a recent engineering road trip from one small wind installation to another, I got "stuck" behind a truck carrying a large blade !

Welcome !

boB

« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 11:15:16 PM by boB »

boB

• boB
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 11:16:17 PM »
Here's what I got stuck behind...

boB

« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 11:16:17 PM by boB »

halfcrazy

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 04:12:47 AM »
Can we use that turbine to charge our battery's? I think boB can build me a controller.

Seriously though that staging going around the blade is way cool.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 04:12:47 AM by halfcrazy »

Madscientist267

• Uh oh. Now what have I done?
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2009, 07:16:18 AM »
Hahaha Do you think they'd notice if one just 'came up missing'? LMAO
« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 07:16:18 AM by Madscientist267 »