Author Topic: Which rectifiers?  (Read 1334 times)

fabricator

• SuperHero Member
  • My smoke got out again
Which rectifiers?
« on: August 03, 2009, 01:34:09 AM »
Ok, remember I'm a fabricator not an electrician so I need the "For Dummies" version,

I'm shopping for rectifiers, I'm building the 17' 48v battery charging version, is there any advantage in getting higher amperage rectifiers? Say 50amp?
« Last Edit: August 03, 2009, 01:34:09 AM by (unknown) »
I aint skeerd of nuthin.......Holy Crap! What was that!!!!!
11 Miles east of Lake Michigan, Ottawa County, Robinson township, (home of the defacto residential wind ban) Michigan, USA.

fabricator

• SuperHero Member
  • My smoke got out again
Re: Which rectifiers?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2009, 07:37:06 PM »
Nuther question, is there any way to get this board to send email notifications of responses to threads?
« Last Edit: August 02, 2009, 07:37:06 PM by fabricator »
11 Miles east of Lake Michigan, Ottawa County, Robinson township, (home of the defacto residential wind ban) Michigan, USA.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 01:24:38 AM »
Play safe with the rectifier.

The common 35A bridges are single phase and it is a bit of a guess what their rating is when connected 3 phase as done here with 3 bridges.

As single phase units they are virtually incapable of the 35A, it is a resistive or inductive load rating and can only be obtained with a monster heat sink. Even the connectors are on the limit at 35A.

If you can find them 3 phase bridges are more convenient but the decent industrial ones tend to be expensive although they often crop up surplus on ebay and similar places. I would look for something of 50A minimum for a block 3 phase bridge. Voltage rating is not normally an issue, the industrial ones will always be over 400v .