Author Topic: isolation transformer for pulse charger  (Read 997 times)

wingman1776

isolation transformer for pulse charger
« on: February 14, 2009, 05:52:19 PM »
I have read every back post on here that I can find on build a pusle charger. Took me 3 days lol. I have decicied to build a transformer cap bridge type. I want this thing to be safe not just line voltage to the cap bridge. I am a plumbing heating a/c guy by trade and not real sure about the transformer to put in frount cap brige part of circut.

So this is my plan I found a medical isolation transformer 120V to 120V it is a round thing with lots of wire coming out of it. Then I was going to put a varic adjustable transformer 120V 12 amp. I have about 500 uf  total in run cap mixxed voltages rated between 370 - 440 volts and a 3 phaze 60 amp  1200 volt high voltage bridge rectifier nice big heat sink for it.

Now do I need the isolation transformer I definaly want the varic so I can control the voltage and the varic is fused to 20 amps. Will not having the isolation ransformer burn up my varic ? If I wire this properly will it work and be a safe ?

Moved to the proper section
« Last Edit: February 14, 2009, 05:52:19 PM by (unknown) »

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
Re: isolation transformer for pulse charger
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 12:02:36 PM »
Wouldn't the variac be an isolation transformer in itself ?
« Last Edit: February 14, 2009, 12:02:36 PM by (unknown) »

rossw

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 12:33:37 PM »
I've seen a lot of variacs in my time, but never seen an isolating one.

Variac and "auto-transformer" types are usually a single coil on a round former. The knob adjust the ouput tap.