Author Topic: Solar Powered Backup System  (Read 55485 times)

wilfor03

• USA: Union Grove, Alabama
Solar Powered Backup System
« on: May 25, 2010, 11:11:03 AM »
I have been working for several months now (when the money allows) on getting my "solar system" together. I've got 140w of panels on an old c-band satellite mount (no tracker yet) with manual actuator control. I ran that into a Sunforce 30amp charge controller down to 3- 1400 CCA Workaholic Interstate batteries (12v). Run it all out to a 2500w inverter. Well, last night here in Alabama we had a hell of storm pop up and knocked our power out. I went out and shutoff the mains breaker, went to the workshop and turned on all my "solar" stuff and started turning on things in the house we needed to have run. One way to do a test run, eh? I had on 1 CFL 20w lamp, the fish aquarium, the refrigerator, the freezer, the 42" Visio, Direct-tv, and charged the lantern. Had all this on for over 2 1/2 hours till the power came back on. I think not to bad for a test run. Still have along way to go yet, but can really see the light (LOL) at the end now!!   :o

« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 02:41:44 PM by JW »
Bill

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Solar Powered Backup System
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2010, 12:14:14 PM »
wilfor;

Thats how it starts..

You are probably fully addicted now.

There is no 12 step program for the affliction. either.

Mine started like this:

We did some upgrades to the rack. It was built with expansion in mind:

It looks like this now:

Lots of hidden bits, too.

Just want to point out you may want to build so you can add panels should you have the chance.

Mine is built with heavy 3" angle so adding was easy.

Nice start you have going.

Thanks for the share.

Tom

wilfor03

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 12:42:12 PM »
Hey Tom