Author Topic: In researching stage...  (Read 12436 times)

Atokatim

In researching stage...
« on: August 04, 2010, 11:45:53 AM »
Well, after finding that wind power in my area is not reliable, I am moving on to solar energy.  I have read alot of things on SunElec.com but I would like to know a few good resources instead of just one.  Where are some good places to purchase solar cells or just panels.  I am looking to produce a minimum of 500 watts.  I know solar cells are being sold per watt, but enough research, I can find reliable and accurate solar cells.  From what I have read, I will need enough cells to produce 1000 watts just to produce a true 500 watts.  The battery bank more than likely will either be 24v or 36v.  Not 100% sure why some use 48v systems.  Still reading that.  As you can tell, I am a true newbie on this, so any help is greatly appreciated.  I am currently looking for the best "bang" per buck.  I don't want something cheap, but I want something that will last.  Ebay solar cells worry me.

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: In researching stage...
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2010, 11:57:48 AM »
Better find some honest stuff about making panels from cells, that work very well for very long.
Books on CD advertisements are BS.

36V?  No, don't do that.
Find a 36V inverter.

http://www.solar-electric.com/

G-
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2010, 12:00:41 PM »
First thing I will say is:

Good Luck finding a modern 36 volt inverter.

Unless you are just using DC you want to be sensible and go at least 24v volt and preferably 48 volt.

It is plain silly to start with an arbitrary system voltage with no reason behind it.

I don't have time to explain it all as it took me decades to understand the details of system design.