Author Topic: Need help/ suggestions regarding iron core AFPMG.  (Read 6092 times)

Aamir

Need help/ suggestions regarding iron core AFPMG.
« on: November 19, 2021, 04:47:01 AM »
Hi to all friends and respected senior members.

I want to make an iron core dual rotor axial flux generator having 16 coils and 32 (16+16) neodymium disc magnets. This is my first time working on AFPMG therefore I need help and guidance. Keeping aside all issues (cogging, eddy current, etc), my main goal is to get maximum output from it that's why I chose iron core. Output will be converted to high voltage dc so frequency and waveform is not an issue as well. I have 20mm diameter solid iron cores (1.5 inch & 2.25 inch). Magnets are 20mm x 10mm/ 20mm x 20mm disc magnets. Output will be single phase and coils will be connected in series or series-parallel combination. Stator and rotors will be made of acrylic or aluminum. But before I proceed, I would like to ask a few questions.

1) Which magnets will be good for the job. 20mm x 10mm, 20mm x 20mm or 25mm x 25mm?
2) Should I use smaller core (1.5 inch) or bigger one (2.25 inch)?
3) What should be the maximum diameter of output coil?
4) Any advantage of bifilar coil over single wire coil?
5) Is 5mm air gap ok between magnets and coils?

Kindly point out other important factors as well which I may have left. Any kind of help will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: Need help/ suggestions regarding iron core AFPMG.
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2021, 10:23:57 AM »
welcome to the forum . this is the right place to learn how to build alternators.

I build dual rotor axial flux alternators  but there is no iron core.
the alternators consists of two iron ( mild steel) disks with multiple magnets placed on the surface.
the disks need to be iron in order to contain and redirect the magnetic flux.
between the magnet disks  a stator is suspended . consisting of copper coils immersed in a plastic resin disk.