Author Topic: My 46.5 Watt Solar Power System  (Read 6867 times)

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
My 46.5 Watt Solar Power System
« on: March 04, 2008, 06:30:03 AM »
 A Friend of mine recently sold me a 45 watt Harbor Freight solar power system for $150 and I installed it last year 2007 in October. I was going to post about my new system when I got the Solar Panels Mounted properly but it didn't happen so I'm finally posting about it now. But I can tell you more about things since I've been using the system for 4 months now.

The pictures are all 640x480 but I have them tagged to display small in this story. If you would like to see a larger version of a picture you can Right-Click the image and then select the menu item that views the full size image.

Here is the Shed with the batteries and my solar panels. If you look closely right next to the solar panels you will see a little 1.5 watt solar trickle charger and my solar Pool Heater. I want to mount the solar panels on top of the shed and mount the pool heater over the first section of fence next to the shed. The Above Ground pool goes in the spot where everything is sitting right now.

All of my Solar sources will combine through this little diode network. You can see the three main 15 watt panels hooked up here. This is an older picture so you can't see the trickle charger hooked up and I have a 5th panel that I'm weatherizing and will add later this year. This diode combiner will be rebuilt with some low voltage drop schottky diodes later.