« on: December 20, 2006, 07:40:09 AM »
Has anyone giving 4,6,8 blade gennie any thought for low wind

although I have not built one yet still in the plan stage

All advice is welcome
« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 07:40:09 AM by (unknown) »

Seaspray0

Re: Blades
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2006, 11:34:31 AM »
As a newbie, I am also interested in this subject.  I've seen a few designs so far and you guys have a pretty good handle on designing but the steps seem to be confusing.  As an example, suppose I wanted to build a generator with 4 foot blades.  I can get a fair indication of the power I'll be able to make from the swept area.  But what's next?  Do I need to pick a tip speed ratio (TSR) next and design the generator from there to work at the expected average RPM I'll get from the average wind velocity here?  How do I pick the right TSR?  Am I going about this from the wrong end?  Is the TSR selected first and the generator designed around that or is the TSR selected based on the generator which is designed first?
« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 11:34:31 AM by Seaspray0 »

icicle

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2006, 12:57:29 PM »
« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 12:57:29 PM by icicle »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2006, 01:09:28 PM »
It is best, I think, to make the generator first, while keeping in mind the blades it is intended to match.

It seems to be easier to match blades to a generator, than match a generator to blades.

More blades need a lower TSR than less blades of the same diameter.

The Benz limit, TSR, drag (somewhat), and swept area will limit the choices.

A 3 blade unit usually wins.

G-

« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 01:09:28 PM by ghurd »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2006, 01:12:52 PM »