Author Topic: Synchronizing Car Alternators  (Read 5819 times)

(unknown)

Synchronizing Car Alternators
« on: January 13, 2009, 09:56:34 PM »
Hello,

I would like to know if anyone on the list has hands on experience running two

or more car alternators in parallel.

This project will consist of two or three identical GM alternators and will be used

as a welding power supply.

Would it be better to hook up the AC output from both alternators and rectify

afterword ? How do you promote load sharing between the two alternators ?

I have plenty of experience with electronics over the past 20 years, just nothing

to do with alternators, and though I would ask a few people before jumping into a

bunch of complicated conclusions.

It's a little off topic, but this site has the correct type of people to work

on this problem !

Thanks,

Scott

« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 09:56:34 PM by (unknown) »

bob g

• 8.8kwatt idi diesel thermal conversion unit
    • microcogen.info
Re: Synchronizing Car Alternators
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 04:52:01 PM »
syncing them on the ac side is going to be a difficult project requiring chain or cog belt drive to keep them locked together in my opinion.

how many amps are you after?

bob g

« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 04:52:01 PM by (unknown) »
research and development of a S195 changfa based trigenerator, modified
large frame automotive alternators for high output/high efficiency project X alternator for 24, 48 and higher voltages, and related cogen components.
www.microcogen.info and a SOMRAD member

nick1234

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 05:03:00 PM »
personally i would do on the DC side after the bridge rectifier that way no back circuit and as long as voltage same current will add in dc like  using batteries  

nick
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 05:03:00 PM by (unknown) »

dnix71

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 05:13:58 PM »