Author Topic: knowledge needed  (Read 4973 times)

BIGBERG

knowledge needed
« on: January 18, 2008, 06:00:46 PM »
       I am new to the independent power group. I am studying. I have some basic questions.

If I build an altenator. Axial flux. Can I make 120v AC practically.If I would use it to operate an attic fan And didn't care about fan speed. Or even if the fan didn't turn during low winds. Couldn't I just wire the fan control directly to the altenator?

I am on off-peak/dual fuel. My local rural electric provider. Says I cannot have more than one service. Any idea how I might get around this?

Rather vague. Maybe you should post some details.
Like what do you mean by "more than one service"? Or, better yet, exactly what you intend to accomplish. We don't read minds very well on Fridays.

« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 06:00:46 PM by (unknown) »

BIGBERG

Re: knowledge needed
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 02:23:13 PM »
  A service is when the local power company. brings electricity to your service panel.fuse box. I am on dual fuel. when the power company needs more electricty than they can provide. They shut off my heat. I would like to build a system that would supply heat during these periods.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 02:23:13 PM by BIGBERG »

kurt

• website
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 05:59:56 PM »
wood stove maybe?? propane heater?? depends on what resources are available to you but generating electricity then converting it to heat is not going to be cost effective or efficient as far as heating your house.  
« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 05:59:56 PM by kurt »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 07:44:27 PM »
You want to run an attic fan from a windmill?

Quite easy.  Use a DC fan motor, smaller than the AC fan motor.  Rectify the AC output of the alternator, feed it straight to the fan.

Those 100 fin roof-top attic-fan things might do better.

What does "off-peak/dual fuel" have to do with it?